o zone login
  1. You are at:
  2. Home
  3. About us
  4. The organisation
  5. Council


Council is responsible for ensuring that the GOsC fulfils its statutory objectives.

It sets the strategic direction for the organisation and oversees the implementation of that strategy. The detailed role of Council is set out in the Governance Handbook.

Council is made up of five lay members and five osteopath members, all appointed by the Privy Council. For further information about the appointment process see the Appointments page.

Council Associates also participate in discussions at the meetings but are excluded from voting on decisions. See information below.

Dr Bill Gunnyeon     
Dr Bill Gunnyeon (Chair)
Lay member

 Sarah Botterill  Daniel Bailey  Council member Elizabeth Elander
Sarah Botterill
Lay member

Daniel Bailey
Osteopath member

Elizabeth Elander
Osteopath member

 Caroline Guy  Council member Simeon London  Deborah Bowman
Caroline Guy
Osteopath member

Simeon London
Osteopath member

Professor Deborah Bowman
Lay member

 Dr Denis Shaughnessy  Deborah Smith  In image of Dr Patricia McClure
Dr Denis Shaughnessy
Lay member

Deborah Smith
Osteopath member

Dr Patricia McClure
Lay member

Council Associates 

Council Associates participate in discussions at the meetings of Council and Committees but are excluded from voting on decisions.

The aim of the Council Associates programme is to identify and develop individuals within the osteopathic profession who have the potential to undertake future non-executive positions, whether these be at the GOsC or in other organisations.

Council Associates receive training and support to help them undertake this development opportunity. 

There are currently two Council Associates. We plan to appoint further Council Associates in the future.

Photo of Laura Turner Harriet Lambert crop

Laura Turner
Council Associate

Harriet Lambert
Council Associate