o zone login
  1. You are at:
  2. Home
  3. News and resources
  4. News
  5. New Council members appointed

New Council members appointed

8 April 2020

The General Osteopathic Council appoints three new Council members, effective from 1 April 2020.

The start of their terms coincides with Dr Bill Gunnyeon CBE officially taking over as Chair of Council from Alison J White, as announced in November 2019.

The new Council members, who have all been appointed for four years until 31 March 2024, will play a central role in setting strategy and policy to ensure the GOsC fulfils its statutory duties to regulate standards of osteopathic care in the UK.

The new Council members are:

  • Daniel Bailey (registrant)
  • Deborah Bowman MBE (lay)
  • Caroline Guy (registrant)

The GOsC would like to thank the Chair and the following Council members for their dedicated service as they came to the end of their terms on Council on 31 March 2020:

  • Chair: Alison J White (lay)
  • John Chaffey (registrant)
  • Haidar Ramadan (registrant)

All Council members are appointed by the Privy Council following an open recruitment process undertaken by the GOsC and scrutinised by the Professional Standards Authority. The Council meets four times a year and the next meeting is due to be held on Monday 10 May. Plans are being developed to hold this as a virtual meeting.

More information about the GOsC’s Council:
Biographies of Council members
Dates of meetings and papers