

Council 2 November 2016 Reappointments

Classification Public

Purpose For decision

Issue Reappointment of members of the Professional Conduct

Committee (and Health Committee) and the Investigating

Committee

Recommendations

1. To agree to the reappointment of Richard Davies, Philip Geering and Colette Neville to the Professional Conduct Committee and Health Committee from 1 April 2017 to 31 March 2021.

- 2. To agree to the reappointment of Jacqueline Pratt as a member of the Investigating Committee from 1 April 2017 to 31 March 2021.
- 3. To agree to the reappointment of Miles Crook and Yvonne McNiven as members of the Investigating Committee from 1 April 2017 to 31 March 2018.

Financial and resourcing implications

None

Equality and diversity None **implications**

Communications implications

None

Annexes None

Author Tim Walker

Background

- 1. The GOsC is currently recruiting for a large number of new fitness to practise committee members: seven for the Professional Conduct Committee/Health Committee and three for the Investigating Committee. This large turnover is partly as a consequence of the reconstitution of Council in 2009 and the eight year term limit for appointees to statutory committees.
- 2. In addition, this year, there are a number of individuals who are eligible for reappointment following completion of a four year term or are eligible for a 'final' year having initially been appointed for three years followed by a subsequent four year term.

Discussion

- 3. All reappointments are subject to the process agreed by Council in January 2012 which includes an application for reappointment, confirmation that the necessary time can be given to the post and appraisal by the relevant committee chairs.
- 4. The reappointment process commenced well in advance of the reappointment date of 1 April 2017 in order to allow for new appointments in the event that any members did not seek reappointment.
- 5. The Chair of Council has reviewed all the relevant documentation and is recommending the reappointments as set out in the recommendations below.

Recommendations:

- 1. To agree to the reappointment of Richard Davies, Philip Geering and Colette Neville to the Professional Conduct Committee and Health Committee from 1 April 2017 to 31 March 2021.
- 2. To agree to the reappointment of Jacqueline Pratt to the Investigating Committee from 1 April 2017 to 31 March 2021.
- 3. To agree to the reappointment of Miles Crook and Yvonne McNiven to the Investigating Committee from 1 April 2017 to 31 March 2018.