

Council
12 November 2015
Reappointments

Classification Public

Purpose For decision

Issue Reappointment of members of the Professional Conduct

Committee (and Health Committee) and the Education and

Registration Standards Committee

Recommendations 1. To agree to the reappointment of Anthony Kanutin,

Jacqueline Salter, Corinna Kershaw and Judith Worthington as members of the Professional Conduct Committee and Health Committee from 1 April 2016 to

31 March 2017.

2. To agree to the reappointment of Bernadette Griffin and Robert McCoy as members of the Education and Registration Standards Committee from 1 April 2016 to

31 March 2017.

Financial and resourcing implications

None

Equality and diversity None

implications

Communications implications

None

Annexes None

Author Tim Walker

4

Background

- Initial appointments to the Professional Conduct Committee and the Education Committee (now the Education and Registration Standards Committee) were made on the reconstitution of Council from 1 April 2009. Some of these appointments were made for a period of three years and others for four years. All of those appointed initially for three years were reappointed for a further four years from 1 April 2012. These appointments are all now due to expire on 31 March 2016.
- 2. The purpose of staggered appointments is to provide a degree of continuity in the operation of the statutory committees and to ensure that the knowledge and expertise built up in committees is not lost. There is also a need to ensure that the large number of appointments that we are required to undertake can be managed effectively by the Chair, Council members and the Executive.
- 3. All reappointments are subject to the process agreed by Council in January 2012 which includes an application for reappointment, confirmation that the necessary time can be given to the post and appraisal by the relevant committee chairs.

Discussion

Professional Conduct Committee

- 4. We have already commenced an appointment process for at least four new members of the PCC to be appointed from 1 April 2016, this will ensure that the PCC will have at least sixteen members, close to its maximum allowable number of eighteen. The continuation of the existing members (particularly the current Chair of the PCC) will ensure an effective transition. It is also expected that to manage an increased number of hearings a further four members will be appointed to the PCC in 2017.
- 5. It should be noted that all those appointed to the Professional Conduct Committee are also appointed to the Health Committee.
- 6. In addition, it should be noted that while the Chair of the Professional Conduct Committee, Judith Worthington, is proposed for reappointment to the Committee, she does not need to be reappointed as Chair as she remains in this post unless she leaves or is removed from the Committee.

Education and Registration Standards Committee

- 7. A similar situation exists with regard to staggered appointments to the Education and Registration Standards Committee. Two of the four external members of the Committee are eligible for reappointment in 2016 for one more year.
- 8. It is proposed that the reappointment takes place in order to support continuity on the Committee through the period of the reconstitution of Council which may have an impact on both the lay and registrant Council representation on the Committee.

9. This approach will also allow the new Council time to consider whether it wishes to make further changes to its governance architecture before new external appointments are required.

Conclusion

- 10. The proposed approach was agreed by the Remuneration and Appointments Committee at its meeting on 2 July 2015.
- 11. The Chair of Council has reviewed all the relevant documentation and is recommending the reappointments as set out in the recommendations below.

Recommendations:

- 1. To agree to the reappointment of Anthony Kanutin, Jacqueline Salter, Corinna Kershaw and Judith Worthington as members of the Professional Conduct Committee and Health Committee from 1 April 2016 to 31 March 2017.
- 2. To agree to the reappointment of Bernadette Griffin and Robert McCoy as members of the Education and Registration Standards Committee from 1 April 2016 to 31 March 2017.